Faculty of Arts

Faculty Organization in OER by Discipline Guide

The Faculty of Arts has been organized alphabetically into the departments identified on the faculty website, followed by any applicable sub-departments or subjects.

Individual Open Educational Resources (OER) are organized alphabetically by title within their subject area.

Suggested Repositories for the Faculty of Arts


  • OAPEN: Includes freely accessible academic books mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.


  • Open Geography Education: Provides free and open textbooks and other online resources in the areas of geography and geospatial technology.


  • NOBA: Includes open textbooks in Psychology that can be customized or built from scratch from content licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Public Domain Works: Fiction and Non-fiction

  • Project Gutenberg: Large collection of eBooks in the Public Domain because the copyright has either expired or the copyright holder has given explicit permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use. Contains many classic works of literature.
  • Public Domain Core Collection: Includes fiction and non-fiction public domain works that have been adapted for post-secondary use through Pressbooks. This collection is a collaborative project between Ryerson and Brock universities.

Connect with Libraries and Cultural Resources Support

Please refer to the Libraries and Cultural Resources (LCR) Staff Directory to connect with a librarian supporting your subject area.


Know of an open educational resource (OER) not listed?

Contact us at oer@ucalgary.ca.

Already using an OER? Have you adapted or created an OER?

Let us know by completing the OER Adoption and Creation Sharing Form


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

OER by Discipline Guide: University of Calgary Copyright © 2022 by editors Sarah Adams and Ramina Mukundan with Libraries and Cultural Resources is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book